Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

To Love God Like That.

Job lost everything.  He had more to lose than you and I could imagine, and lost it all.  I don’t really appreciate all of the livestock that he had because we don’t rely on it the way that they did back then.  We live in a different world.

Now people don’t have to know where, when, or how to get clean water because it’s piped into our homes.  We don’t have to worry about problems caused by all of our “human waste” cause that’s piped out of our homes.  We don’t really know how to feed ourselves- unless you count earning money, buying groceries, and preparing food in a kitchen to be doing so.  Men who had to hunt or farm if they wanted to eat and feed their families probably wouldn’t call that knowing how to feed ourselves.

Men in Job’s day had to know these things.  And, in a lot of ways, livestock meant life back then.

And Job lost more livestock than we could imagine.  More importantly, he lost ten kids. I don’t imagine that Job was too attached to his livestock.  People usually only have cooky attachments to animals when they only have one.  He had a lot more than one, so losing the livestock probably really only affected him economically.  Sheep, camels, oxen, and donkeys can be replaced.

Children can’t.  After being struck by messenger after messenger after messenger with news that all of his livestock was gone- all of it- the last messenger struck most violently.  All of his children were dead.  All of them.

I haven’t lost a whole lot in my life- especially when you stack my losses up next to Job’s.  But, when things don’t go my way I pretty much act like a 3-year-old who doesn’t get his way.  Which, saying that doesn’t really work because I have two 3-year-old nephews who typically act pretty well when they don’t get their way.  Typically.  But, when things don’t go my way, I tend to act like them on those occasions when they act like every other 3-year-old in the world.  I may not outwardly throw myself on the floor, legs kicking, arms flailing, and vocal chords working really well- but I far to often do so inwardly.

When I think about Job, and the way that he responded to losing far more than I have ever even had to lose, and far more than I could imagine losing, the analysis of my problem is simple:  I don’t love God enough.

Job loved God so much, and understood so well that God is in control and that God is good, even when (maybe especially when) it doesn’t seem like it, that when he received the worst possible news, he fell to his knees and worshipped God.  He worshipped God!

I stub my toe and respond closer to the way that Job’s wife advised him to.  Job loses thousands of livestock and ten kids and worships God.

While the analysis is simple, the solution is at least less so.  How do I get from here to there?

January 16, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

