Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

“The Joys of Motherhood” (Poetry)

From this corner office my mind drifts away,
To a beautiful, sun-soaked, summer day.
This was the day when my daughter first smiled,
And tears filled my eyes as I held my child.
And when she smiled, how my heart erupted;
Those blue eyes twinkled, oh how I loved it!

Then comes the thought of my daughter’s first step,
Just one step, then she fell, but my heart leapt!
With loving arms, I scooped up my baby,
Twirled around the room with my little lady.
Her steps had numbered a million shortly,
But the first was the best, at least for me.

And bittersweet was her first day of school.
I was so worried that she would be cool.
I thought she would have one or the other-
Either excitement or tears for her mother.
Somehow both she was able to manage,
As through the tears she had such courage.

In her wedding gown as she walked the aisle,
And lighted the church with her lovely smile-
She looked through tears to his eyes, said, “I do,”
And, “to you, my love, I’ll always be true.”
This day is better than all of the rest,
Her wedding day is the one I love best!

I thought that giving birth would my life end,
But I’ve been haunted by what might have been.
I traded real life for another sort,
Joy for regret when I chose to abort.
My life ended along with hers it seems,
These joys of motherhood are only dreams.

O what a wretched choice I made that day,
I would undo it if there were a way.
If I could go back, to term I would carry,
So my baby could smile, walk, learn, and marry.
In singleness and career, there is no good
That could compare to the joys of motherhood.

May 28, 2009 - Posted by | Poetry |

9 Comments »

  1. Your best poem to date!

    Jim

    Comment by Jim Hamilton | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. […] Posted by Jim Hamilton on May 29, 2009 Check out this poem, which in my judgment David Hamilton’s best effort to date: The Joys of Motherhood. […]

    Pingback by My Brother, A Budding Robert Browning « For His Renown | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. Uggh, you made me tear up, Dave. Awesome. So true. You should contact A Woman’s Choice and see if you can serve them–like meet with boyfriends who drop off their pregnant girlfriends and who are not knowing what to do about the pregnancy. You could lead a Bible study with the guys who are interested, who receive help from the CPC. You have such a passion for this. I’m so glad you’re ministering on the sidewalk. You stir up in me a desire to continue looking into how I can serve again. Loveyabro!!!!!

    Comment by Jilliana | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. Wow! Wow! This is powerful brother. Praise God for gifting you with the ability to paint such powerful pictures with words.

    Linking to this soon,

    Travis

    Comment by Travis Cardwell | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  5. Awesome Poem man! May those words ring true in our president’s heart.

    Comment by Joseph Doty | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  6. I hope many come across this poem.

    Great word, brotha D.

    Billy

    Comment by Billy Newhouse | May 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. this is amazing! is it alright if i pass it along to other pro-lifers?

    Comment by Kate | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  8. Wow, that was truly incredible. It was precious, and the heartbreaking reality at the end…wow.

    Comment by Nicole | January 17, 2010 | Reply

  9. wonderful.

    Comment by Your Mother | May 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

