Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

“My Treacherous Heart” (Poetry)

My treacherous heart, some friend you have been;
Like Brutus and Judas through thick and thin.
Rejoicing in small things, complacent in great;
You’d have me in hell if you held my fate.

I once got free tickets in the second row,
To watch the Houston Rockets put on a show.
I told all my coworkers this good news,
But failed to tell them of the King of the Jews.

I once met the loveliest young lady,
Whose allure, charm, and beauty constrained me.
If Helen’s face launched a thousand ships, then
The face of this maiden could launch a million.

Nothing’s wrong with sports or lovely young ladies,
But the sin for which I deserve Hades
Is rejoicing in good things, although small,
While oft failing to in the greatest of all.

Blessed am I, for my sins are forgiven;
Greater still, eternal life I’m given.
If I but look to Christ, He’ll do the rest,
And save me from this traitor in my chest.

My heart overflows for tickets and a girl,
But not for Him who created the world.
If only my heart would give Christ His due,
This treacherous heart would forever be true.

May 21, 2009 - Posted by | Poetry |

2 Comments »

  1. I love you, son.
    Mama

    That’s a beautiful poem.

    Comment by Gramzee | May 21, 2009 | Reply

  2. Love it, Dave. Keep that ink flowing! (And keep that humble and repentant heart confessing!) Unfortunately, you speak of what we all experience. Loveyabro!

    Comment by Jilliana | May 22, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

