Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

“The Most Beautiful Sight

The most beautiful sight that I’ve beheld,
Was not a reflection of light by these eyes held.
Neither work of art nor gorgeous sunset,
Nor a feminine beauty when our eyes met.

This sight was in my imagination,
And of the father of our salvation.
The Lion of Judah and Passover Lamb
Was Son of David, Son of Abraham.

The story that I will seek to unfold,
Took place when Abraham was very old.
This story from long ago we shall see,
Has eternal meaning for you and me.

Now the Lord spoke to Abe in a vision,
Said, “I’ll be your Shield and your Provision.”
But Abraham had an unmet desire,
That burned within him like a raging fire.

What he wanted more than riches untold
Was a child of his own to have and hold.
God promised that his reward would be great.
Abe said no reward could repay this fate.

Abe said, “My servant will inherit me,
So what good is wealth and prosperity?
All You give me will go to another,
For my bride has never been a mother.”

“What can you give me that’s greater than this?
For my wife and I will die childless!
The son of my servant will be my heir,
O Lord, this cursed barrenness, who could bear?”

The Lord said, “Abraham look above you!
The great stars in the sky are a sign that I love you!
I brought each one forth and gave it a name,
Too many for you to count, much less tame.

Just as their number is too high to count,
Far higher still will your offspring amount.
Abraham fell and worshipped on his knees,
And was reckoned righteous for his belief.

For those who believe in God’s promises
Have been born of the God of righteousness.
Old Abe was promised many descendants,
We’re promised eternal life and forgiveness.

Each day brings trials and uncertainty,
But let us trust God and His sovereignty.
Here we stand, we can do no less,
Believing in God and His righteousness!

April 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Praise God! Well said sir. Keep it up. Press on.

    I enjoyed watching the game with you. Thanks.

    Comment by Ross | April 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. I like.

    Comment by Gramzee | April 11, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

