Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

The Divide Between Theology and Life

Theologically, I understand that we are all messed up sinners who need God and need our neighbor every moment of our lives.  Without God first and our neigbor second, we are guaranteed to sin against the living God.

However, I struggle with transitioning this theology into my life.  In my pride and sinful self-sufficiency, I try to do things on my own.  And I fall on my face on my own.  With others, I know that all the people with whom I interact are messed up sinners who need God and need their neighbor every moment of their lives.  Moreover, I know that I am called by the word of God to bear the burdens of my brothers and sisters in Christ, and they are called to bear mine.

But, in an effort to bear my own burdens, I fall on my face.  And, by failing to bear others’ burdens, I am most certainly letting them fall on their faces.

For the glory of God, the sake of Jesus’ bride and gospel, and the good of our souls, may God grant me the grace to seek help with my own burdens and seek to help others with theirs.  And may the gates of hell suffer greatly!

January 3, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] However, I struggle with transitioning this theology into my life . In my pride and sinful self-sufficiency, I try to do things on my own. And I fall on my face on my own. With others, I know that all the people with whom I interact are …[Continue Reading] […]

    Pingback by …Makes Me Furious » Blog Archive » The Divide Between Theology and Life « Eyes That See | January 5, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

