Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Job and I

I mentioned in a recent post that I desired Job-like faith.  I still do.  But, for now at least, there is one Jobian response that I am exibiting.

After the Lord speaks to Job in chapters 38-39, chapter 40 begins with the Lord giving Job the floor:

“Then the Lord said to Job, ‘Will the faultfinder contend with the Almighty? Let him who reproves God answer it.'” -Job 40:1-2

“Then Job answered the Lord and said, ‘Behold, I am insignificant; what can I reply to You? I lay my hand on my mouth.'” -Job 40:3-4

Before the Lord, I say with Job that I am insignificant and there is nothing that I can say before Him.  I lay my hand on my mouth. 

Oh, but how I need Him!  I, who stand condemned before His perfect law.  I, who have so many times forsaken Him, the fountain of living waters, and hewed out for myself broken, leaky cisterns.  I have turned my back on the living God, and the blessings forevermore that He promises are at His right hand.  I have sough to be self-sufficient.  I have sought to satisfy my thirst by running from a flowing fountain, and I have dug a hole in the ground.  All while failing to honor and thank the God who gives the rain that I still need if there is to be any water in my well.

He upholds my lungs and my heart, and causes them to breathe and beat by the word of His power, and yet I live as if He has no power.  He sits at the right hand of God in heaven, and I live as though He doesn’t see what I do.  I will stand before His judgment seat and behold His glory, and yet I live as if that moment has no impact on my daily life.

Oh God, be merciful to me, a sinner.  Send Your Spirit in power, because I am incompetent.  Change my wicked heart, which rejoices to pursue sin, but reluctantly pursues Your kingdom and Your righteousness.  Save me from myself, and keep me from the evil one. 

Thank You for Your mercy in sending Your Son, in whom, by whom, through whom, and for whom those who are His can rejoice at the words of the apostle Paul.  Those who are no less deserving of condemnation than anybody else can say with confidence,

“Therefore there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” -Romans 8:1

September 12, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

