Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Only a Fool Would Believe the Bible.

Only a fool would believe the Bible.  I’ve always striven to be “normal.”  Now, in one sense, there is no such thing as “normal.”  We all have our similiarities, but we also each have distinct differences.  However, we all have this sense of “normal” in our minds, and we all either applaud or are appalled when somebody offends this normalcy, depending on whether we consider ourselves rebels or conformists.  There is, in our culture, somewhat of an understood, operational definition of “normalcy.”

Christianity and the Bible have irreconcilable differences with this “operational definition of normalcy.”  Only a fool, in the eyes of the world with its understanding of “normal,” would believe that God worked all of the miracles that are in the Bible.  A central event in Christianity, arguably the central event, is that Jesus Christ, after being tortured and murdered by crucifixion, rose from the dead three days later.  Then, He ascended to the clouds, where the Bible tells us that He is sitting at the right hand of the Father until the Father makes His enemies a footstool for King Jesus.  At which point He will return the way He left, by descending from the very clouds to which He once ascended.

The crowning moment of the Christian King involved no crown of gold, silver, or any other precious metal; but a crown of thorns.  And His inauguration cermony included His death.  The King is dead, long live the King!

This stuff is utterly and irreconcilably offensive to the world’s operational definition of normalcy.  Therefore, we can only either strive for normalcy, or we can be a fool and believe the Bible.  I think that I need to strive for a better grasp of this.  One hindrance to my personal evangelism is that I am afraid that I will look like a fool if somebody disagrees with me.  What I need to realize is that I am offending the Gospel if I try to reconcile it with “normalcy,” as the world sees the term.  Therefore, the only afforded option is which of these mutally exclusives I will offend.  Will I offend normalcy, or will I offend the Gospel?  I can be neither a rebel nor a conformist to both “normalcy” and the Gospel.  I must be a rebel to one and conform to the other.  I need to embrace looking like a fool, rather than shy away from it, for it is unavoidable.

People are fools for all sorts of things.  Witness a young man in love, and the lengths to which he will sacrifice his “normalcy” for the heart of his beloved.   Witness a person who is strongly committed to a cause, and he or she will inevitably be willing to look like a fool for the sake of the cause. 

Should we not then be willing to look like a fool for the Beloved for whom we were created?  Should we not be committed to the greatest cause of all, the Gospel and Kingdom of our Lord and Savior, King Jesus?  There is no greater person and no greater cause for whom or which we could look like a fool, than King Jesus and His cause- building His church by taking His gospel to “every tribe and language and people and nation.”

I am proud to be a fool who believes the Bible, and I believe its promises that Jesus Christ died as my substitute to satisfy the just wrath of God against my sins.  I believe that by faith my sins are transferred to Jesus and their penalty is paid in full by the death of the sinless Savior.  By the grace of God, may I be as proud when it comes to proclaiming the Gospel as I ought, and may I strive to conform to the Gospel and Bible, by rebelling against the shifting “normalcy” of the world!

August 1, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. You undermine the world and its thirst for out-of-the-norm events. It’s actually the ‘normalcy’ of the Bible who gains followers and loses rebels. What a greater story to relate with than that of a humble citizen doing miracles? Wouldn’t it be harder to relate to a story of an extravagant being with utterly fantastic powers? There are much more radical stories that adapt better to the wicked understanding of the world than the one of Jesus.

    Still a good reflection for a youth group, though.

    Comment by Wicked Christian | August 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. I love you. Mom

    Comment by Gramzee | August 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

