Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

What I Miss About College Basketball

I am a little over two years removed from my college basketball career at the University of the Ozarks, and I thought I would post some things that I miss.

I definitely miss the obvious things. The games- especially the victories- and playing your best when the big lights are on. Hitting a big shot late in the game, the big dunk, steal, 3, assist, screen, block, and taking a charge (which I think I did a total of three times in my four-year career!). I loved those things, and miss them dearly.

However, I have been surprised by other things that I miss. Things that I didn’t realize that I loved until they were gone. Things that nobody outside of college ball knows about.

Lacing them up six days a week in practice and battling another guy for your spot- or his. Scouting reports, film sessions, meetings, and pre-game talks all geared toward preparing for the other team and its individual players. All of the mental focus from the time the last game ended to get ready for the next one. Subbing out of the game, and sitting on the bench wanting your team to do well, but wanting even more to get back in there and help them do well.

And the relationships. The players, coaches, and trainer. The bonding time in locker rooms (no homo) and on road trips.

People see the final product on Thursday night or Saturday afternoon, or whatever. What they don’t see is all of the behind-the-scenes things that culminate on Thursday night or Saturday afternoon. I love and miss them all!

July 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Again, I do so love you my son! Mom

    Comment by Gramzee | August 9, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

