Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

My “Philosophy of Christian Education, As it Applies to Athletics”

I wrote this about nine months ago for a small, Christian school in the Houston area.  Their website said that they needed a basketball coach.  However, when I submitted my application, resume, etc., and contacted them, I found out that they had already filled the position and just had not updated the website.  The application, which was the same one for teachers, called for the applicant to provide his or her “Philosophy of Christian Education.”  They had no teaching positions open at the time, so I decided to add “As it Applies to Athletics” to my “Philosophy of Christian Education.”

My personal philosophy of Christian education, as it applies to athletics, is that there is a God who created everything in this universe.  He ordained that people get better at things to which they devote time and effort.  My pride often kept me from acknowledging these truths in my own basketball career, but I am inspired to see others avoid mistakes that I have made- in life and on the basketball court.  I know that, “every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow” (James 1:17).  I also acknowledge that, “bodily discipline is only of a little profit, but godliness is profitable for all things, since it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come” (1 Timothy 4:8).  With these two verses in mind, I believe that basketball coaches and players should acknowledge that God is the Creator and Giver of all things, including basketball.  Coaches and players should see basketball as a blessing from God, and be thankful for it, while also realizing that the most important things for which we all strive are the kingdom of God and His righteousness. 

I believe that basketball, when viewed in light of the Scriptures and applied in the right avenues, can teach a lot of life lessons.  The things necessary to succeed in basketball translate well to the things necessary to succeed in life.  In order to succeed in basketball, a person has to learn how to train, persevere, focus, and compete, among other things.  These are all traits that lead to success off the court as well.  Also, bodily discipline “holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come” only insofar as it aligns with our pursuit of godliness.

I intend to do everything I can to help the players get the most out of their potential and to win as many games as possible, but I also know that the most important victories will be measured off the court.  I will consider myself successful if I am able to lead, mold, and encourage my players to be better Christians and better people, even if we never win a single game.

July 30, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

