Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Why Are Our Tax Dollars Funding Abortion?

I would assume that the most common stance of those who consider themselves “pro-choice” on the issue of abortion is that they don’t like the idea of abortion, but they do not believe that government should interfere with a woman’s right to choose what to do with her body.  My argument against that would be that a pregnant woman has another living human being insider her womb, and the person in the womb has rights that should be defended as well. 

Regardless of whether or not you agree with me on that point is irrelevant for this post, however.  What I would like to discuss here is this:  Why are our tax dollars funding abortion?  Many Americans are pro-life and do not believe that abortion should be legal.  Many “pro-choice” Americans oppose abortion itself, but disagree with the idea of government interfering with the woman’s “right to choose.”  I don’t know what per centage these two factions make up of the total population of our country, but I must assume that it is significant. 

And yet, assuming that they all pay their taxes, their tax dollars fund abortions, and most notably fund abortion provider Planned Parenthood.

Think about that next time you get your paycheck and your jaw once again drops at the amount Uncle Sam gets.  Some of that is going from you to Uncle Sam, and then from Uncle Sam to Planned Parenthood to pay for abortions.

Why?

July 11, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Our government does many things that irk me, but this one really chaps my hide.

    Issues like this impress 2 Chronicles 7:14 in my mind.

    Comment by Katesy | July 12, 2008 | Reply

  2. “if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.” -2 Chronicles 7:14

    Comment by bigham | July 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

