Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Do You Love Him?

“If you love me, you will keep my commandments.” -John 14:15

Jesus says these words in the midst of the wondrous fourteenth chapter of the Gospel of John.  Then in verses 23 and 24, He says:

“If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me.” -John 14:23-24

At the end of the chapter, Jesus gives His disciples the example that they are to follow in loving Him.  That is, He gives evidence of His love for the Father, which would soon be manifested in His obedience:

“I will no longer talk much with you, for the ruler of this world is coming. He has no claim on me, but I do as the Father has commanded me, so that the world may know that I love the Father. Rise, let us go from here.” -John 14:30-31

To sum up these verses, those who love Jesus will keep His commandments.  They will keep His word, which is the Father’s word.  Jesus showed His love for the Father by His obedience, and by laying down His life to do His Father’s will.

So, do you love Him?

July 8, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Awesome brother.

    Comment by chris | July 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

