Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Keep Your Eyes On Him. (Part II)

I can use all the prayers I can get, so I’ll start part II as I did part I- with a request for you to pray for me.  Pray that the Lord would change my wicked, sinful heart so that I see Jesus Christ as not only my Savior, but also my Lord.  Pray that the Lord would open my eyes, ears, and heart to see, hear, and understand that Jesus died on the Cross to satisfy the wrath of the three-person God and reconcile me to Himself, so that one day I will stand before Him in awe of His glory and praise Him in song for eternity.  I believe these things to be true in my mind, but my heart and my flesh are at war with these truths.  Without the help of the Father, Son, and Spirit I not only am unable to attain victory, but I am also unable to maintain the will to fight.  I am needy.  Pray that I will go to Jesus for all of my needs, for He alone can satisfy them.  And pray that the moment that I will behold the Lamb that was slain in all His glory will become so valuable to me that I can say with the apostle Paul, “to live is Christ, and to die is gain,” and that the promised sight of Jesus will become the meaning of my life such that I live for His glory and to exalt Him, and expectantly await the joy that lay before me in death.

(Continued from Part I)

So what do we have in Matthew 2:15?  Did Matthew get it wrong?  Did he make a mistake?  Was he crazy?  Is this an example of Matthew quoting an Old Testament verse and using it out of context to make it say what he wanted it to say?  Or was he reading the Old Testament in a way that he was taught by the resurrected Son of God, and therefore reading it in a way that we should seek to read it also?

This might not be the best example for a discussion of typology in that we do not exactly have a prototypical divine pattern of events.  We could possibly argue that Abraham leaving Egypt and going back to the land that God had promised Him falls into the category of God calling His “Son” out of Egypt, but I’m not excedingly comfortable making that argument.  So we really only have one event in this “pattern,” but I think that is okay.  This one event is a big event, and a few facets of the event clearly point forward to Jesus.  So although the “pattern” here might be a little on the weak side since there is only one event, I think that it is clearly typological nonetheless. 

Hosea was written in a time when the hearts of the Israelites were cold towards God, and they were guilty of spiritual adultery because they had given their hearts to other gods and been unfaithful to the Lord their God.  I think that Hosea, as the mouthpiece of the Lord, mentioned the exodus in order to remind the Israelites that the Lord their God was the same God that had done great and mighty works in calling His “Son,” Israel, out of Egypt.  Just as Hosea referring to God’s miraculous works in leading the Israelites out of Egypt in the exodus would have reminded his readers of those works and the great God who orchestrated them, God sending Jesus to and calling Him out of Egypt, and Matthew’s recording the event, reminds the reader of Matthew that this is the same God who led the Israelites out of Egypt with plagues, death, and a parted sea in His wake.

This is important because in the second chapter of the New Testament we see that the God who orchestrated the virgin birth and sent angels to Joseph and Mary is not some new god on the scene.  Rather the God that the New Testament tells us is one with Jesus and the Father of Jesus is the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob; the God who parted the sea and the Jordan River; the God who felled the walls of Jericho and the giant Goliath; and the God who promised a seed of woman, lion of the tribe of Judah, and offspring of David would crush the seed of the serpent, rule and judge the peoples, and reign forever (Genesis 3:15; Genesis 49:8-12; 2 Samuel 7:12-13).

Therefore, in saying that God calling His “Son,” Jesus, out of Egypt fulfilled what the prophet had written, I believe that Matthew was quoting the prophet Hosea, as Hosea was pointing back to an event that was pointing forward to Jesus.  Since the exodus pointed forward to the coming of the Messiah, God calling the Messiah out of Egypt fulfilled the prophet’s quote about the exodus.  However, since Hosea 11:1 is clearly not what we would consider an obvious Messianic prophecy, I believe that Matthew 2:15 makes it clear that Matthew read the Old Testament typologically- and that, along with the statements that Jesus taught the disciples how to understand the Scriptures, warrants our doing the same.

(…to be continued in Part III, with my typological argument that Jesus Christ was the promised seed of woman, lion of the tribe of Judah, and son of David- the promised Messiah!- who God raised from the dead, who ascended to the right hand of the Father, and who is coming again!)

May 20, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. Great! I love cliff-hangers too! I really appreciate all of this theology stuff, but don’t you ever do anythinhg lighter, like a juggling act or something?

    Just wondering,

    artichokes; painted

    Comment by mercyswimming | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. good stuff ham! i heard a message similar not too long ago, he spoke of the “seed” of Eve and how Moses, many years before the birth of Christ prophesied the virgin birth, since the woman carries the egg and not the seed, the seed was of the Holy Spirit. There is a lot to it, but its interesting.

    Comment by markfreeman | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. the best part of that comment is that only five people would understand it!

    Comment by bigham | May 20, 2008 | Reply

  4. […] (Continued from Part II) […]

    Pingback by Keep Your Eyes On Him. (Part III) « Eyes That See | May 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

