Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

A New Hero of Mine

I have few heroes in my life.  My mom and dad always have and always will be in a class by themselves as two of those. 

My brother Jim Hamilton and John Piper are heroes of mine because they have faith that I seek to imitate, as they imitate Christ; and because they are phenomenal preachers of the Word of God.  A third man has recently joined the two of them in that limited group of heroes that point me towards The Hero.

Piper mentioned Ayn Rand and her book “Atlas Shrugged” in a few different recordings of his that I have listened to.  Since Rand and her works seem to have influenced him, and since he mentioned that particular book more than once, I decided to read the book.  Piper quoted Rand as saying that, “Admiration is the rarest of all pleasures.”  By this Rand meant that admiring greatness and ability in others is the rarest of all pleasures, and Piper points out that John Galt had to be created in “Atlas Shrugged” in order for Rand to have a hero to admire.  It appears as though Ayn Rand never had a real life hero.  She never knew Dr. Tom Schreiner.

I drove up to Spring, TX each of the last two nights after work to hear Dr. Schreiner preach.  He supervised my brother’s PhD at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, so I have heard great things about him and have a copy of his book “Paul, Apostle of God’s Glory in Christ.”  The two things that I recall most fondly from the last two nights are that Christ is our Champion, and the greatness of the glory of God. 

One thing that I really enjoyed from his sermon Monday was when he pointed out who we are in the story of David and Goliath.  Whether this is intentional or not, I think that those who read or hear the story position themselves in the viewpoint of David.  We all want to be the unlikely hero who overcomes the unconquerable foe.  Dr. Schreiner pointed out that we who are God’s people are reflected in God’s people in this story from long ago.  We are the ones who are afraid of the daunting enemy, and it is Christ who won the great victory for the Lord and His people.  And our Champion made it possible for us to enjoy the blessings of His Victory.

Tuesday Dr. Schreiner preached about Moses, and how his face shone after encountering the glory of God.  I would not be surprised if my face is currently shining after encountering the glory of God in the person and preaching of Dr. Tom Schreiner.

March 19, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Um…hello…you do have sisters. 🙂

    Comment by Mindy | March 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. Absolutely I have two sisters that are definitely heroes of mine!

    And they have received too little credit for my conversion.

    I mentioned a couple of times that concluding that a Christian girl would be ideal to marry was one of the first things that the Lord opened my eyes to as He left the 99 to pursue me and bring me into the flock.

    Within that process of identifying the Christian girl as ideal was the realization that I wanted a wife and mother of my children who was a lot more like my sisters and a lot less like the kind of girl that I had been pursuing.

    My sisters are both amazing, and Mindy you are my hero, as well as the president and possibly lone member of my bball fan club!

    Comment by bigham | March 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

