Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Tragic Political Correctness

Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.” -Matthew 7:13-14

I feel that I must warn you that I am writing with a heavy heart. And that this condition could well be contagious. If you would like to go on enjoying life blindly, perhaps it is better for you not to continue reading.

My senior year in college a freshman on the basketball team was killed in a car accident. We had a “big brother-little brother” program on the team, and Joshua Leverton was my “little brother.” He was riding in a car with another student, a soccer player, on their way to Dallas one weekend, and they were both killed in the accident. We had a memorial service, and one teammate and the coach from the soccer and basketball teams were selected to speak. My religious beliefs were drastically different then, and I carefully avoided anything religious from the podium of the university’s chapel that day. In my speach, I pledged that Josh was “gone, but would not be forgotten.” In one sense I have held true to these words. I still have fond memories of the day the two of us went for a 2-mile run through the moderate hills of Clarksville, Arkansas, and of his passion for basketball, girls, and life. In that sense he truly has not been forgotten. In another, more tragic sense I have failed miserably to hold true to my pledge not to forget Joshua Leverton.

It is in his memory and honor that I now write.

I did not know then that I would have so few conversations with Josh. I don’t remember much of the content of the conversations that we did have, other than that basketball, girls, and classes were the most common topics. What happens when you die never came up. I don’t know what Josh believed, but the Bible says that we will find ourselves face-to-face with the living God, who has seen and knows everything we have ever done and every thought that has ever crossed our minds. And the verdict of the righteous Judge will either be, “I never knew you; Depart from me, you workers of lawlessness,” or, “Well done, good and faithful servant… enter into the joy of your master.” (Matthew 7:23 and 25:21, 23)

And according to Matthew 7:14 “those who find” the narrow gate and hard way that lead to the joy of the Master “are few.”

The reason that I chose the title “Tragic Political Correctness” is because it is politically correct to tell the loved ones of the deceased that he or she is “in a better place,” “you will meet him/her again someday,” etc. In the case of the lost, this is not only unBiblical, but it is also tragic, because it leads to the logical conclusion of, “if he/she lived however they wanted to and they still went to heaven- and God’s a loving God, He wouldn’t send him/her to hell- then surely I’m okay, and surely I’ll go to heaven too.” How different would our lives and our conversations look if we constantly remembered that most of the people that we have known that have died are in hell. And that most of the people that we see throughout our daily lives are bound for the wide gate and easy way that leads to hell.

To those who would argue that hell is unjust, that God is unjust for creating hell or for sending people there, my response is this: God is unjust for letting anybody out of hell. He knows everything that you did and thought yesterday, and that makes Him unjust for letting you open your eyes and letting the sun rise this morning. To those who call for justice from God, realize that justice from God calls for each and every person who has ever lived to be sentenced to eternity in hell for belittling God and His glory.

It is nothing but His loving mercy that let you open your eyes this morning, breathe your last breath, and have one more day to be reconciled to Him, in spite of the plethora of reasons that you and I give Him every minute of every hour of every day to do otherwise. He struck down Uzzah for reaching out to prevent His ark from falling in the mud. It would be righteous and just of God to strike each and every one of us down in the same manner every time we sin, and for every time that we try to do things our way instead of His way and approach Him with unclean hands, as Uzzah did.

In spite of some theories that suggest that God wants you to live “Your Best Life Now” or “Become a Better You” or that God wants to bless your finances, relationships, and your health; the meaning of life is this: We are but a vapor, and we have very little time on this earth- especially in comparison with eternity. The meaning of life is to hear the words, “Well done, good and faithful servant… Enter into the joy of your master.”

The way that I have failed in remembering Joshua Leverton is that I have not remembered that the people that I see every day could be lost and gone forever just as quickly as he was. I do not want to repeat the tragedy of not having the conversation with them that I never had with Josh.

March 13, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

