Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

“That Fatal Hour”

I have sinned against You a million times,
Treated streets of gold like nickels and dimes.
I cower in fear of that fatal hour,
When I am before your might and power.

“I’m better than most, not as bad as some,”
Would be an argument quickly undone.
For your omniscient eyes see all I do,
You’ve seen my lust, pride, and selfishness too.

At my best, I fall short of Your glory,
And my worst, well that’s another story.
Jesus said I’m to be perfect like You,
So condemnation is all that I’m due.

For if perfection is what you require,
I deserve no less than eternal fire.
The devil is waiting, with flames gaping,
On my own there’s no way of escaping.

I bow at Your throne, acknowledge Your reign,
But Your perfection I cannot attain.
But just as with Isaac and Abraham,
You asked a lot, but provided a ram.

And like the Exodus passover story,
Where You built Pharaoh up to show Your glory,
When You promised death to every firstborn,
Unless with lamb’s blood their door was adorned.

For Your perfection, You gave me a Ram,
And saved my soul with the blood of the Lamb.
Though guilty as all before Your throne,
In Your great mercy, You call me Your own.

March 11, 2008 - Posted by | Poetry

1 Comment »

  1. Hallelujah!

    Comment by jimhamilton | March 12, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

