Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

A note from the wannabe poet…

In one sense, I’m not sure where this poetry is coming from. In the other sense, I know that it has the same Origination Point as all things; it comes from the Lord. There are parts of my poems that have definitely been inspired by the minor prophets in the Old Testament. I am taking my brother’s Old Testment Prophecy class in seminary right now, and I have really enjoyed reading those oft-overlooked little books that come before Matthew. It turns out that some (at least some, could be many/most/all) of the books were poems in their original form. Nonetheless, this poetry thing is a bit odd to me.

Anyways, I thought I would briefly explain these three little poems.

“Converted Anew” was actually the first one that I wrote, although it was second to appear on the blog-a-roo. I vividly remember sitting in church as a child and being confused by the pastor’s sermon-ending altar call. I was “saved” and baptized/dunked at 6, but after that my heart was often stirred when the pastor would call the lost to Jesus. I actually went forward during one of these times of confusion. The pastor asked me all the “questions,” and since I had already been baptized and had all the right answers, that was that. Eventually, I came to the conclusion that these altar calls weren’t intended for me since I was already “saved,” and I continually silenced the tugging of my heart. In a sermon recently, the pastor called the lost to Jesus at the end of his sermon, and this brought back my memories of feeling excluded by the call to the lost, when I thought I wasn’t of the lost. I don’t want to lessen the importance of calling the lost to Jesus by saying this, but I think that the saved need to be called to Jesus as well. I’ve also been thinking a lot about sin and what happens when we sin. In order to sin, we must believe that in that moment the sin is better than the way of the Lord. However, when the sin is over and we see the big picture without the cloud of whatever temptation it was that inticed us, we see obviously that the infinite pleasures at the right hand of God are better than any swim in a sinful swamp could ever be. In thinking of these things, I see some level of deconversion and reconversion that comes with repentance in the wake of sin. The “Once more the whore” part was inspired by the book of Hosea, in which Hosea and Israel reap the fruit of Israel’s failure to follow Exodus 34:13-16. (I thought about writing- and still may- a blog called “I’m a Whore, You’re a Whore, We’re All Whores” tying together Exodus 34:13-16, Hosea, and David’s adultery+murder combo, to discuss the fact that all sin is whoredom towards God and towards our Betrothed, Jesus.)

“The Wedding Day” was the first poem in my mind, the second on paper, and then the first on my blog. My brother made some comment a few months ago in church, I think it was in a prayer, about the church being presented to Jesus as a pure bride. Then he preached a sermon a couple of weeks later from Revelation 19, which has some wedding day imagery in connection with the Second Coming of Jesus. So in that time I had the idea of a poem that set the reader up thinking that it was a love poem about a “normal” wedding, with a surprise switch-a-roo to the ultimate Wedding Day, the “Day of the Lord.” I am writing a paper on the book of Obadiah, and the poetry of that shortest book in the Old Testament also influenced “The Wedding Day,” most notably with the mention of “Edom.” Obadiah starts off pronouncing judgment on Edom for its violence against the Israelites, and then pronounces judgment on all the nations- along with promised deliverance for God’s people. In the paper I plan to argue that, based on Paul’s argument that Gentile believers are “spiritual Israel,” unbelievers, whether Jew or Gentile, are “spiritual Edom,” which makes Edom’s judgment in Obadiah applicable to all unbelievers.

“Yet You Have Not Returned to Me” was inspired by the book of Amos in class yesterday. In the book of Amos, the Lord says “yet you have not returned to Me” five times between verses 6 and 11 of chapter 4 (in the NASB). So I started jotting down lines that rhymed with “Me,” which is not a very difficult word to rhyme with. The “calf” in the section about idolatry is the golden calf that the Israelites worshiped while Moses was on Mt. Sinai, and which Israel returned to again and again; choosing to wallow in idolatry rather than enjoy the promised sonship of the living God. The way that I envisioned the tempo of this one was that the third line of each stanza would be read in a forceful/pleading way, thus the prominence of “!’s”.

March 7, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

