Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

“The Wedding Day”

You are the sight that my eyes were made for,
As long as I’ve you, I’ll ask for no more.
Joyously I wait for that glorious day.
With bride and groom, when the veil’s pulled away

The wedding day that I see in my mind
is not typical, so let us rewind.
The sight and the treasure: Jesus alone.
And the unveiling is that of His throne.

For He is the groom, and the church His bride.
All robed in white, into battle we ride.
For serpent and Edom have declared war,
But the King hushes all, they speak no more.

Except to confess, while on bended knee,
that Jesus is Lord over land and sea.
For the sword of His mouth will make it known:
From pauper to king, we’ll reap what we’ve sown.

February 29, 2008 - Posted by | Poetry

3 Comments »

  1. wow…well written, my blogging friend.

    Comment by Karis | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  2. Excellent Poetry.
    Wonderful words.

    Comment by mom | March 1, 2008 | Reply

  3. […] “The Wedding Day” “Converted Anew” “Yet You Have Not Returned to Me” “That Fatal Hour” “From Virgin’s Womb to Empty Tomb” “It Was For Joy That You Died For Me” “The American Dream” “I’m Gonna Start a Church and Preach” “Come and Make Known Your Name!” […]

    Pingback by Attempts at Poetry « Eyes That See | July 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

