Eyes That See

“I Once Was Blind”

Merry Christmas!

 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. -Luke 2:11

Jesus came to conquer sin and to forgive us of sin.  Sin no longer has the power to condemn us to hell because our spotless Lamb came and was sacrificed as a sin offering, washing away all of our sins, if only we acknowledge Jesus Christ as the King of the universe, submit to His authority, and live for Him.

Our great King frees us from the bondage of sin.  I hesitate to say that we are forgiven of future sins, but I believe that to be the case.  We are forgiven of all future sins.  The proper reaction to that, I believe, is not to say “let us sin more, since we are forgiven,” rather I think the proper reaction to be that our freedom to fail should give us the courage to fight.

I think that John Piper explains this better than I do in his Christmas sermon from 1998.

An analogy that came to my mind as I thought about this phenomenon- that freedom to fail provides courage to fight and succeed- is from early in my basketball career.  When I played eighth and ninth grade basketball, I started as an eighth grader, but I was just a role player and didn’t take a lot of shots.  However, in my 9th grade season I guess I was pretty much the go-to player for my small town junior high basketball team.  I remember that I always had a little bit of nervousness at first, partly because I felt the pressure of knowing that I had some responsibility because my team needed me to play well in order to have a chance to win.

The adrenaline was always pumping as we ran out of the locker room, and things didn’t really settle down for me until a few minutes into the game.  I remember realizing that my first shot pretty much always was at least three or four feet too long and would go sailing over the rim for a glorious airball.  But, as I settled in and got into the flow of the game, I would get comfortable and start hitting shots.

After I came to this realization, I began shooting my first shot each game expecting to miss.  I knew that I had some jitters, and that I needed to get past those if we were going to do well.  Then the craziest thing started happening.  Once I stopped being afraid of missing my first shot, in the form of shooting without regard as to whether or not I made the shot, I stopped having the nervousness going into that first shot.  And I stopped airballing my first shot.  And then I started hitting my first shot somewhat regularly.

I felt like I had the freedom to miss that first shot because I had to get past that in order to lead my team.  My freedom to fail turned into a freedom to succeed, and I was much more successful.

So, my Christmas present to you, dear reader, comes in the form of an encouragement for a New Year’s resolution.  Resolve to fight in 2008!  Fight sin.  Sin has no power over you, if you have died to sin with the Lord Jesus Christ.  He has conquered the hold that sin has over mankind, and His glorious death provides forgiveness for sin.  Because of the Cross, we are free to fail.  Let our freedom to fail not result in more sin, rather let it result in a resolve to fight!

And dear unbelieving reader, my Christmas present to you is the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  If you look at this broken, sinful world and see no hope or satisfaction anywhere you look, I urge you to look to Jesus Christ.  The living God who created this universe and everthing in it, including you and I, requires absolute perfection and absolute righteousness from us.  However, man is depraved and all have sinned.  Our sin causes a seperation between us and God, and if God is to be just He must atone for sin before we can be reconciled with Him.

Praise God that He provided the absolute perfection, the absolute righteousness, and the atonement for sin in the Lord Jesus Christ!  The King of kings came into this world 2000 years ago, in the humble beginnings of a baby in a feeding trough in the town of Bethlaham.  He lived a perfect life, healed the sick, gave sight to the blind, died our death, and proved that He was the Son of God by conquering death three days later.

The absolute perfection and absolute righteousness that God requires, He provides in Jesus Christ.  That perfection and righteousness can be yours, if you submit to the true King of this universe, and live for His kingdom.

If you are sick of the muck and mire that this world has to offer, and blind to any hope or satisfaction, come to Jesus.  Just as He healed the sick and gave sight to the blind a couple-thousand years ago, He can do the same for you.

But blessed are your eyes, for they see, and your ears, for they hear.  For truly, I say to you, many prophets and righteous people longed to see what you see, and did not see it, and to hear what you hear, and did not hear it. -Matthew 13:16-17

December 25, 2007 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

